‘A literary man’ William Morris and the Book – New exhibition launches at Kelmscott Manor

Kelmscott Manor’s 2025 exhibition draws on the extraordinary collections of the Society of Antiquaries of London, following William Morris (1834 – 1896) from boyhood to grave through the books he read, wrote, collected and designed, and concluding with a look at his legacy in the field of book arts.
Morris is celebrated as the father of the Arts and Crafts Movement, famous for the designs that express his reverence for Nature, but also have their roots firmly planted in history. He learned about both through reading, declaring himself to have been ‘a great devourer of books’ from a young age. As his life unfolded, Morris developed into one of the great polymaths of his age, continually juggling overlapping projects and renowned by all who knew him for his astounding energy. He joked that ‘If a chap can’t compose an epic poem while he’s weaving tapestry… he’ll never do any good at all.’ Whatever he was doing, and wherever he was, words mattered.
Not only was Morris a poet and author, but also taught himself many of the crafts associated with fine book production. These were put into practice in his last great project, the Kelmscott Press, launched in 1891. Its impact was profound, prompting the private press movement that flourished during the early part of the 20th century, and continuing to influence many of today’s private presses and book artists.
When William Morris’s library was dispersed following his death, his widow and daughters retained a small proportion of it, largely books he had given to them. These remained at Kelmscott Manor and form the majority of the exhibits in this exhibition.
Exhibits include:
- Examples of the books Morris owned and read whilst a student at the University of Oxford
- An annotated copy of his first volume of poetry, The Defence of Guenevere (1858)
- Examples of Morris’s renowned collection of early printed books and manuscripts, including an exquisite 12th-century illuminated manuscript bible
- Kelmscott Press publications, including the copy of the famed Kelmscott Chaucer given by Morris to his daughter, May. Also Morris’s design for the pigskin cover of the Chaucer, and some of the tools used to make
- Volumes by some of the leading late 19th– and early 20th-century private presses such as the Ashendene Press and Essex House Press
- Fine bindings by Katharine Adams and the Doves Bindery
Award-winning poet Robert Seater and acclaimed visual artist Jessica Palmer will bring the fascinating stories and compelling atmosphere of Kelmscott Manor to life as part of the Manor’s programme of learning and public engagement alongside the exhibition. There will also be a series of drop in workshops throughout the season.
ENDS
Notes for Editors
The Society of Antiquaries of London
The Society of Antiquaries of London is Britain’s oldest learned society concerned with the study of the material remains of the past. Founded in 1707, our Royal Charter of 1751 defines our objectives as ‘the encouragement, advancement and furtherance of the study and knowledge of antiquities and history of this and other countries’. We deliver our charitable objectives through activities at two sites – Burlington House, London and Kelmscott Manor, Oxfordshire. Kelmscott Manor is an internationally important collection of C17-C19 century listed buildings, furniture, pictures, textiles and objects created by and associated with William Morris (1834-1896), his family and wider circle. For more information visit: sal.org.uk
Kelmscott Manor Information
Kelmscott Manor was the iconic country home of William Morris; poet, designer, craftsman, socialist and founding father of the Arts and Crafts movement. This Grade I listed house was loved by Morris as an example of traditional craftsmanship in harmony with the nearby village and surrounding landscape, towards the very upper reaches of the Thames.
Today, visitors will find an outstanding collection. The Manor has so many intriguing stories to tell; its collections span over 300 years and reflect the lives, ideas, and creative legacy of those who lived and stayed there.
Kelmscott Manor is open to the public from 5 April – 25 October 2025.
Opening times: Thursday, Friday & Saturday – 10.30am to 5pm, last entry to Manor house 4pm. A ticket is required for the house, entry to the grounds is free.
Facilities: Toilets, licensed tearoom, gift shop, Learning Barn with family activities.
Accessibility: The Manor house has step free access to the ground floor rooms only, all other buildings have step free access. Accessible toilet available.
Kelmscott Manor, Kelmscott, Lechlade GL7 3HJ 01367 252486
[email protected] kelmscottmanor.org.uk
Press Enquiries
Amanda Stinton, Business Development Manager, [email protected]


